Roman Ships Going to Barrage Gaming Day

The Harford Area Weekly Kriegspielers (HAWKS) are hosting their annual gaming day, Barrage, on September 14 this year in Havre de Grace, MD. The HAWKS are a great bunch of guys and put on a host of very entertaining and visually impressive games at the HMGS conventions each year.  This years games run the gamut from ancients to sci-fi and include a number of kid friendly games.

Since I moved up to Virginia, Buck Surdu (one of the HAWKS main instigators) has been trying to get me up to Barrage. This year the stars finally aligned, so I will be going up to the event and running my Roman Naval game using the 1/300 paper ship models from Hotz Artworks Roman Seas line and 6mm miniatures from Baccus.  The scenario is one I also ran at Historicon this year.

Hares Before the Eagle

Charged by the Lex Gabinia with ridding the Mediterranean
Sea of pirates, Gnaeus Pompeius Magnus has raised a navy
and organized squadrons of ships to methodically sweep the
pirates from west to east. Roman scouts have tracked a fleet of
pirate vessels to their base and the squadron is closing in with
heavy war ships, heavy engines, and heavy infantry. Can the
seamanship of the pirates allow their smaller ships to challenge
Rome and escape with the loot gained through years of raiding?

The Historicon game turned out pretty well, with the pirates gaining a close victory. At Barrage I’ll be using the Salamis ad Actium rules again, although with some tweaks to try and correct a few things that just didn’t sit well in the Historicon game.

If you are in the area and looking for a good day’s gaming, make the trip up to Barrage. The HAWKS will definitely make it worth you while.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Roman Ships Going to Barrage Gaming Day”

  1. Andy says :

    Have fun! Wish I could make it!

    • Alex h says :

      Me too, looks like fun.

      I look forward to seeing what you do next year for Historicon (I’m planning to fly out for it next year!)

      • Brian says :

        That’s awesome Alex. As the original guru of paper models (at least among our group back in Aggieland), you were very inspirational to the whole project. I’ll have to invent a special Alex Memorial Scenario of the occasion.

      • Alex h says :

        I’m thinking about doing some air racing action next year, if I can get the planes together. It would be small enough to carry, but would look good on a table.

      • Brian says :

        Very cool. I would also be more than happy to provide you with stuff like a ground cloth, etc so that there are fewer things for you to pack. I’m sure Tom would do the same. If you arer just bringing the minis and some rules/play sheets, that should be doable.

      • Alex h says :

        Cool! I will let you know as soon as I know what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

